top of page
搜尋
作家相片Runsheng Zheng

Week 2 Reflection

During these 2 weeks, I did the assignment of "Read and Annotate a Scholar essay:'Looking into the Magic Mirror'."By doing this, I learned how to make annotations while reading, and I think the most helpful part for me is that I learned how to get a prediction of what the essay is going to talk about: by reading the titles and headings before reading the whole essay carefully. After doing the assignment and learning this skill, I believe it helps me to achieve the main goal of this course, which is to be a "better all-around communicator" mentioned by Dr. Haas on the syllabus page of Writing 39a. By employing this skill, I believe it helps me to communicate with the essay easier and better since I can get some clues about the topic of the essay, making the essay easier to read and easier to find the connection between each part of the essay. I understand the importance of predicting the main idea before reading the essay fully, and I will keep doing this because it's so helpful.

Here is what I did specifically when I predict the main idea of the essay. I highlighted the title and the headings and made a prediction base on them. I believe my prediction is right basically after reading the whole essay. While doing this, I think into the title and headings and think about the connection between each part because it forces me to think more and doing this to make a prediction. This part of annotating is what I ignored before, and the picture below is what I normally did when annotating an essay before.




7 次查看1 則留言

最新文章

查看全部

1 Comment


yifeip5
Jan 25, 2021

What you do: "this is something I do especially when I predict the main idea of the paper. I highlighted the title and the title and made predictions based on them. I think that after reading the whole article, my prediction is basically correct, which proves that this method is correct.

Like
文章: Blog2_Post
bottom of page