top of page
搜尋
作家相片Runsheng Zheng

My Three Sources

"Pop Culture Happy Hour: 'Rogue One' And 'La La Land'"

I'd like to use the "Pop Culture Happy Hour: 'Rogue One' And 'La La Land'", published on NPR on December 16, 2016, as my source for the podcast, and the host of it is Linda Holmes. The main topic of this source is to talk about 2 new films: Rogue One and La La Land, and I only focus on the first half of the podcast where they talk about Rogue One. They developed the topic by sharing some overall perspectives on this film, and then focus on some specific points and characters. I'd like to annotate what the host said, that "but, he [Chirrut Imwe] is a blind mistake sort of, and I felt like uh..."(12:30) and "That character [Chirrut Imwe] to me is a mix of stereotype and good exclusion, and I felt weird about it."(12:53) I'd like to annotate these dialogues to discuss the inward and outward beauty or masculinity and the change of the standard of beauty or masculinity in Disney films.


"Looking into the Magic Mirror: Disney’s Impact on the Fairy Tale Genre"

I'd like to use the "Close Reading" essay at Connect "Looking into the Magic Mirror: Disney’s Impact on the Fairy Tale Genre," written by Lynda Haas and Shaina Trapedo, as my source of text. The essay tells us that Disney is a big company that originated from telling fairy tales and it is constantly evolving, teaching us different ideas, especially about gender roles, at different times by different films. The main topic is developed in a chronological way. Because the topic of our podcast is about change related to gender, I may annotate many parts of the essay. And the one that will definitely use is that "the preliminary artwork for Moana, the studio’s first Polynesian princess, reveals that Disney artists may finally be moving away from animated female bodies whose eyes are set wider than their waists."(Lynda Haas and Shaina Trapedo) I'd like to annotate it to show the change of standard of beauty.

"Emma Watson and Dan Stevens Talk About the Feminism in Beauty and the Beast"

It is a YouTube video that I'd like to use as one of my sources, and it's published by POPSUGER Entertainment. The main topic of the source is talking about the feminism factors shown in the film Beauty and the Beast. The main idea is that Belle is a character that shows some characteristics about feminism, and it is developed in a sequential way. I'd like to imply Emma Watson's saying, that "She [Belle] was really going against the grain. She didn't fit in. She wanted a different life from the one that people had laid out for her. She is kind of the ultimate heroine who wants to read in order to escape, in order to empower herself and to educate herself."(0:57). Those sentences show what kind of character Belle is and show what aspect of feminism. I'd like to use this source to develop our topic about the change of female character about gender role in Disney films. I'd like to show a screen shot of this video.



6 次查看0 則留言

最新文章

查看全部

Comments


文章: Blog2_Post
bottom of page