top of page
搜尋
作家相片Runsheng Zheng

Final Reflection

- Two Examples of Transformative Learning


By this class, I know more about the term "social construction." I also learned how Disney influences our value of gender role and beauty through social construction, which is the main course question. Ideas I learned in this class like toxic masculinity change my way to view some things that happened in our society: I realize their motivation for doing something is merely want to act like what they are taught by social construction.


This class also change my reading habit. Before this class, I rarely make annotations while reading an essay or watching a film. My memory is kind of good so I believe and I do can remember what the essay of the film talks about, so I only do annotations if it's too long. But I realize that making annotations while reading can make me read more effectively and engaged after taking the class, and it can make me to understand the essay or the film better. Thus, I begin to make annotations while reading even the essay is not really long.


- Two Problems & A Plan for the Future


The first problem I have is that I can not make annotations while watching videos or films really effectively. When I am watching films or videos, I am so engaged in them and I sometimes forgot to make annotations. Also, I sometimes quote a large fraction of dialog and it takes me a lot of time. I don't think all the sentences I quoted are fairly useful When I am checking my annotation after I watched the whole film. What I'm going to do is just do more practice on annotating videos or films since I believe this problem is a result of that I usually do not take notes when watching films or videos.


My second problem is that I do not write really effectively. By not really effectively, I mean that my writing is not concise enough. I always include some words that are redundant. I believe I can solve this problem by writing more.




16 次查看4 則留言

最新文章

查看全部

4 Comments


Pan Zhang
Pan Zhang
Mar 15, 2021

I agree with you. The commentary on the film is indeed a different experience in this writing class than in the past. This is the first time I have realized the way of multimedia. For the podcast project, thank you for finding multiple soundtracks. They are suitable. At the same time, I hope there is a chance to cooperate again.

Like

Peihao Hu
Peihao Hu
Mar 15, 2021

Hi Runsheng, I agree with your idea that this course change my reading habit. At the beginning of the quarter, I am lack of confidence to finish this course. I thought this course will have so many paper to write and so many articles need to read. But professor divided the whole work into pieces and we only need to finish one single part day by day which is mech less pressure to us.

Like

Kai Wen
Kai Wen
Mar 15, 2021

Hi Runsheng! I was not annotating film neither before this class. But now I realize how important and how useful it could be for me to better understand the film plot and characters. It's nice seeing you identify your problems and I'm sure you will do better in the future. Having you as one of my groupmates is an honor and the music you found for our podcast is perfect. Keep on doing the goods!

Like

Zoe Zeng
Zoe Zeng
Mar 14, 2021

Hi Runsheng! For annotating the films, I was not used to doing so as well! But we were kind of the opposite, I was afraid that I would miss some points so I paused VERY often to annotate. I had to pause many times although I really wanted to enjoy watching the film. However, the annotation process helped me explore things that I had never noticed before, which was quite a surprise for me! I am glad that I had you as group mates, thank you for your contribution and humor on the podcast project, keep being a funny person!

Like
文章: Blog2_Post
bottom of page